Matthias Wessling new member of the Leopoldina


Professor Matthias Wessling, member of the scientific board at DWI, head of the Chair of Chemical Engineering, and Vice-Rector of Research and Structure at RWTH Aachen University, has been inducted into the National Academy of Sciences, Germany's foremost academic society. He is the thirteenth RWTH professor to be honored in this way.

In 2010, the scientist became the Chair of Chemical Process Engineering at RWTH by being appointed to an Alexander von Hum-boldt Professorship. In 2019, he was awarded the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize. Wessling and his research group are investigating the synthesis of bio-inspired interactive material systems. With the help of existing and novel materials, complex interactive structures are developed and their structural-functional behavior in the interplay with stable or time-varying driving forces is analyzed and described. Fundamental research work in recent years within his ERC Advanced Investigator Grant has focused on the control of complex physico-chemical flow phenomena at the membrane/fluid interface. Applications of his work can be found, for example, in the development of sustainable chemical processes, water purification and artificial organs.

"Being accepted into the Leopoldina is a very great honor for me personally. But more than that, it is recognition of the creative contributions of my staff, graduate students, and undergraduates over many years. This appointment will continue to motivate me and our team to research the physicochemical fundamentals and applications of synthetic membranes in the fields of artificial organs, energy storage, hydrogen technologies, CO2 capture and utilization, biomass utilization and also water desalination," explains Wessling.

The Leopoldina is one of the oldest science academies in the world. As the National Academy, it has represented German science in international bodies since 2008. It is dedicated to economically and politically independent social issues of the future from a scientific perspective and communicates the results to politicians and the public.

Further information
Member of the Scientific Board

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Wessling

Show the email

Portraitphoto by © Peter Winandy